Logo: Porirua50Porirua50 Awards

On 2 October 2015, Porirua marked the 50th Anniversary of the formal establishment of Porirua as a city.

This occasion offered the opportunity for the Council and the community to celebrate the city's past, present and future, and shine a regional and national spotlight on its attributes as a great place to live, work, play, visit, raise a family and operate a business.

Congratulations to our Porirua50 Award Recipients

The Porirua 50 Years Awards celebrated the significant contribution that 50 living people have made, and continue to make, to make our city the special place it is. 

The awards recognised the city’s unsung heroes who quietly get on with making a positive difference to other people’s lives in Porirua, as well Porirua people who are well-known in the city, the region, nationally and internationally for what they have achieved.

A special 50th Anniversary gala dinner was held at Te Rauparaha Arena on 3 October 2015, made memorable by the presentation of the 50th awards. Mayor Nick Leggett presented award recipients with a special engraved medal designed with the Porirua 50th logo.



Glynis Denz

for her active and passionate involvement and service to our community over many decades alongside her late husband Fred

Kerry Delaney

for her strong leadership and advocacy for our tamariki and her dedication to the Titahi Bay community

Christopher (Chris) Kenny

for his commitment to boxing in our city and nation and his leadership in making the coaching of boxing the best it can be

William (Bill) Platt

for his 45 years of commitment to the organisation of Trust Porirua Brass Band and to the brass band movement both locally and nationally

Joyce Hawe

for her strong advocacy of Unions and workers’ rights and her work in our community

Jeanette Pettit

for her lifelong commitment to Porirua and her superb customer service as the “face of the Kapi Mana News” for over twenty years

Kevin Watson

for his advocacy of our city and time and energy in building a great Porirua

Maureen Gillon

for her advocacy and vision for our city and her commitment to improving our health and education outcomes


Elaine Wi

for her dedication to establishing netball as one of the biggest sporting codes in our city

Lepou Ken Taase

for his commitment to our tamiriki and his long established work with and advocacy of young people and community in Cannons Creek

Chris Kirk-Burnnand

for his very important philanthropic contributions to and active championing of Porirua City

Rev Perema Leasi

for his commitment to young people and his active work in the rehabilitation of prisoners and ex-prisoners

Neil Ieremia

for his creation 20 years ago of Black Grace, bringing the very best of innovative and contemporary Pacific dance to local and international audiences, drawing from his Samoan and New Zealand roots

Liz Pokia

for her commitment, support and promotion of the game of golf in our city and in particular for her support of junior development in the sport

Lyall Hedges

for his huge support of and commitment to our Plimmerton and Paremata communities, of young Maori leaders, and of rugby

Raylene Bishop

for her passionate advocacy of Takapuwahia, Ngati Toa and Porirua and her active support of Toa sport

Salevao Faauuga Manase

for his services to mental health nursing and his leadership in the Pasifica community

Brian Grace

for his lifelong association and commitment to the success of the Titahi Bay Surf Life Saving Club

Kishor Govind

for his care and kindness to families in Cannons Creek requiring much needed medication

Hera Noble

for the untold number of hours of voluntary time she has given to the Takapuwahia community and for her renowned culinary skills in the wharekai

Sonny Malaulau

for his commitment for ensuring Porirua public spaces are presented to the very highest standards and always with a smile

Lisa Lemaire

for her tireless work to ensure all Porirua dog owners have access to de-sexing services regardless of their income and her commitment to doing good across all of Porirua.

Wally Potts

for his unconditional kindness to those with hearing issues and his strong advocacy to ensure full and proper access to the health system for all his patients

Fereti Fred Aiulu

for his unstinting loyalty and voluntary contribution to Northern United Rugby Football and the game in Porirua


Ron Lucas

for his championship, drive and commitment to making Te Ara Piko Pathway a reality for Porirua City

Dave Anderson

for his leadership in restoring and upgrading the Plimmerton Railway Station and his service as a Volunteer Firefighter over the decades

Margaret Faulkner

for her enormous drive for quality healthcare for Porirua residents and her advocacy for older people.

John Cody

for his forty years of work as a social advocate to improve the lives of Porirua people

Dora Stoneham

for her unstinting commitment to cleaning up our city’s environment

Tom Campbell

for his generous support and encouragement of young people in our city

Sharli Jo Solomon

for her commitment to revitalising our harbour and natural environment

Eddie Uluilelata

for his commitment to and advocacy for quality education for our children

Thomas Thomas

for his community service as “Mr Windmill” over four decades of business in Porirua City

Lealamanu’a Aiga Caroline Mareko

for her advocacy for Pacific women and her commitment to good quality early childhood education in our city

Don & Eve Casagranda

for the very warm welcome and support they give to newcomers to our city and Aotearoa

Willie Taurima

for his commitment to nurturing and developing our people through sporting and cultural activities

Beryl Harris

for her commitment to Meals on Wheels and making sure our people are looked after

Catherine (Cathy) Roa

for her dedication to sport in our city and her commitment to making netball the best it can be

Kitiona Tauira

for her commitment to and advocacy for the health and wellbeing of our Pacific people

Ngawai Richardson and Jon Earley

for their compassion and volunteer support and commitment to organisations that enhance the lives of Porirua people

Moana Parata

for her commitment to and advocacy for Maori and our children’s access to and knowledge of Maoritanga

Mathew Solomon

for his long term care of our taonga : the Ngati Toa urupa

Tiratu Williams

for her 24 years of dedication and patience for ensuring the Ngati Toa Treaty claim negotiations outcomes were achieved

Margaret and Ashley Blair

for their dedicated commitment to the wellbeing of our people through their advocacy for education, local history and better living conditions

Josie Lancastor

for her unconditional commitment to and support of our community to ensure their access to needed services

Dale Jennings

for her commitment for over 30 years to ensuring local news was delivered with a smile

Fr Penehe Patelesio

for his commitment for and advocacy of the Tokelauan Language and our Tokelauan people

Lisa Webber

for her tireless work to encourage our people living in Whitby to exercise through walking

Tuaine-Nurse Robati

for his pioneering advocacy for and commitment to showcasing Porirua City internationally through his leadership of the Whitireia Dance Academy

Frank Collins

for his commitment and contribution to raising the standard of rugby in our region

Porirua50 publications

The Council published a series of Porirua50 articles in the Kapi-Mana News during 2015. You can read these issues here in pdf format.