Regional Standard for Water Services

On the 19th December 2012, four Councils within the Wellington Region, (Porirua City, Upper Hutt, Lower Hutt and Wellington City) formally adopted the new joint Regional Standard for all Water Services.

This is the document that sets engineering parameters and standards for subdivisions and other engineering developments within the 4 Authorities.

It relates to the following matters: requirements and engineering standards for all services of, water supply, sanitary sewerage, stormwater.

The new Regional Standard will apply throughout the cities to all urban and rural areas, and apply to all works whether they be for Council contracts, for land development or utility service operators wishing to provide new services or vest services to Councils.

The joint Standards integrate sustainable principles intended to enhance water quality, standardise construction practices across boarders, minimise conflict and costs to rate payers and developers, minimise land disturbance and enhance core services.  In so doing, the standards will help to promote the sustainable management of natural and physical resources within the cities as required under Section 5 of the Resource Management Act 1991.

This new joint Regional Standards will complement the existing Codes of Urban Subdivision, and the current NZS 4404  2004.

Where a particular standard or requirement for Water services is not specifically stated or referred to in the joint Regional Standards, then the next reference would be the current individual Codes of practice for each city and then the current NZS 4404 :2004.