Porirua Sports Awards

The Porirua Sports Awards recognises, celebrates and rewards sports people living in Porirua City. They inspire and assist locally gifted sports people to reach their potential and celebrate those who have.

The awards commenced in 1969 and have been an annual fixture on Porirua’s event calendar since. Many well-known sportspeople have been recognised in this time and with Porirua’s history of turning out successful sporting talent, we expect to see a lot more.

The first recipient of the Porirua Premier Sports Award was Jim Campbell (Surf Lifesaving). Since then, others such as Pat Farrow, Graeme Hawkins, Henry Smith, Michael Campbell, Lynette Brooky, Olivia Baker, Jerry Collins and TJ Perenara have been recipients of this prestigious award.

2016 Award Recipients

Marty McDowell, Premier Award Winner 2016.
PHOTO: Kapi-Mana News

  • Coach of the Year: Declan Edge (football)
  • Volunteer of the Year: Greg Adlam (canoe sprint)
  • Service to Sport: Fred Aiulu (rugby)
  • Kapi Mana Elite Award: Steve Kent (surf lifesaving)
  • Young Sportswoman: Becky Hawthorne (triathlon)
  • Young Sportsman: Daniel Hillier (golf)
  • Sportswoman: Bronagh Ryan (swimming)
  • Sportsman: Marty McDowell (canoe sprint)
  • Disabled Sportsperson: Gary Allbright (special olympics swimming/baskeball)
  • Team of the Year: Titahi Bay U23 Ladies Surf Boat
  • Premier Award: Marty McDowell

2015 Award Recipients

Ngarama Milner-Olsen, 2015 Premier Award and Individual Sportswoman of the Year winner (picture - Kapi-Mana News)

  • Premier Award - Ngarama Milner-Olsen,Triathlon
  • Young Sportswoman of the Year - Marama Elkington, Waka Ama
  • Young Sportsman of the Year - Daniel Hillier, Golf
  • Individual Sportswoman of the Year - Ngarama Milner-Olsen,Triathlon
  • Individual Sportsman of the Year - Craig Caldwell, Darts
  • Sports Team of the Year - Taimania Master Women’s Team, Waka Ama
  • Disabled Sportsperson of the Year - Steven Bishop, Basketball
  • Coach of the Year - Kevin Smith, Golf
  • Service to Sport - Neil Harris, Athletics
  • Lotto Sportsmakers Award for Volunteer of the Year
    Winner - Helen Brooks, Special Olympics Basketball
    Runners Up - Rachel Wybourne-Curtin, Bowls & Mark Watson, Canoe/Kayak Racing

Marama Elkington, Young Sportswoman of the Year winner, 2015 (picture - Kapi-Mana News)

View a list of all recipients of the Premier Award.