Dog Breeds and Types Prohibited

The Dog Control Act 1996 places a total ban on the importation of the following breeds and types of dogs into New Zealand.

Prohibited breeds

The following are prohibited breeds:

  • Brazilian Fila
  • Dogo Argentino
  • Japanese Tosa

Prohibited types

The following are prohibited types:

  • American Pit Bull Terrier

Extent of the prohibition

The prohibition applies to all forms of importation whether by live animal, semen, ova or embryo.

The prohibition list may be subject to Government determination from time to time.

Breaches of the prohibition may be prosecuted in the District Court.

Links to more dog information


Porirua City Council links: